Cheryl Paulson

Name: Cheryl Paulson

Home Base: Nederland, CO

Occupation: Project Manager

Years on Atlas Racing: 1

My Story:

I grew up in Alaska where I began running track and cross country in high school. Over the years I have chosen sports that utilize my lungs and legs. I began racing road bikes, cyclocross, and mountain bikes in the 90’s and found my strength whenever the conditions got dicey. The worse the race day circumstances the more energy I extract from my surroundings. I’m always looking for my next challenge and the higher the adventure scale is on any given day the more you’ll find me smiling…

My passion for snowshoeing has grown over the years… I bought my first big red Atlas snowshoes in the mid 90’s and still love using them in deep powder. Today, I race in the Atlas Dual Track SL snowshoes and my husband direct mounted my racing shoes right to the cleats. This past year I began training on the new 2009 Women’s Elektra and I love them. I have been such an Atlas fan over the years that I put my three children on the Atlas kid's snowshoes before I was even invited to be a member of the Atlas team. We are truly an Atlas family.

I moved to Nederland, CO in 1999. In 2001 I entered the Inaugural Screamin’ Snowman race at Eldora (CO) and have been racing ever since (in between having our three children, of course). I have been racing the Eldora Nighthawk Series for the last 5 years and improving over the years. This past year my 7 and 9 year old sons started snowshoe racing, and as a result there will be a kid’s category in 2010. I love that snowshoeing is fun for the whole family and that the energy you feel in and around the snowshoe racing scene is friendly and contagious. There is nothing better than a mid-week snowshoe race in the small town of Eldora in January where you never know if the wind will be blowing 40 mph or not. You combine the weather with darkness and a rowdy group of athletes who love the adventure of it and it gives you many reasons to come back again next week and next year.

When I am not snowshoeing I work as a Project Manager for a healthcare company, I’m Team Mom for my son’s football team, and I co-coach little league baseball.

Accomplishments: